New ESPHome user- can't see a switch in the entity list

I’ve been using Tasmota for a couple of years on more than a dozen devices around the house. ESP Home looks like a better integration with Home Assistant, so I wanted to give it a try.
My first test was with a NodeMCU. Home Assistant found the switch I defined in the YAML file, but no state change was detected. [Is it pull down or pull up? I tried both.]
Having no success I compiled ESP Home for a Wemos D1 Mini and flashed it. This time, the switch doesn’t show up in the entities.

Any tips of what I may have done wrong?

esphome:
  name: wemos_test
  platform: ESP8266
  board: d1_mini

wifi:
  ssid: "Kaywinnet"
  password: "806194xxxxx"

# Enable fallback hotspot (captive portal) in case wifi connection fails
  ap:
    ssid: "Wemos Test Fallback Hotspot"
    password: "Oi136ZHGIzON"

captive_portal:

# Enable logging
logger:
  level: DEBUG

# Enable Home Assistant API
api:

ota:
  safe_mode: True

# Switch on D4, GPIO2  
switch:
  - platform: gpio
    name: "Wemos_Test"
    pin: D4  

But no logs, no issue :slight_smile:

Thanks, but that wasn’t the question.

I should be seeing an entity: switch.wemos_test, but I am not. That is the question.

UPDATE: I didn’t realize that I had to run configuration again, but now the switch is in the list of entities. Now- How do I get the switch to respond. I pull the GPIO pin to ground or to 3V3, but the entity switch.wemos_test remains “off”.
I will start a new thread since my YAML and log is substantially different, and my issue has changed.

switch:
    name: "Wemos_Switch"
    pin:
      number: D1
      inverted: False
      mode: INPUT_PULLUP

And in the log it shows as an input.
But, still I see no switch activity.

INFO Reading configuration /config/esphome/wemos_test.yaml...
INFO Starting log output from wemos_test.local using esphome API
INFO Connecting to wemos_test.local:6053 (192.168.1.59)
INFO Successfully connected to wemos_test.local