New Home Assistant YouTube Channel (2021)

Happy New Year Everyone!

I have recently been helping people out on forums and social media with there Smart Home setups and Automations. I have really enjoyed this and thought I would give it a go at creating content to help users and show off these things.

I will be creating content in the form of Videos and Blog posts on my website. If anyone is interested or wants to give me any advice or tips then please do.

I’m still new to being on the camera as I am usually the person behind it! I will be listening to all feedback on how best to improve my confidence, content and production quality.

Mark Watt Tech

My new channel can be found here

I will be sharing my website once I have finished a few of my written guides.

We hit 300 Subs in 24 Hours! Thank you for all the support and feedback so far guys.

15 Likes

Great work, thanks for promoting Home Assistant!

1 Like

Hi Mark,

I have watched many YouTube videos trying to learn how to configure Home Assistant. I feel many come up short as they present an idea but don’t do a good job of outlining what it really takes to implement it and some of the challenges and how to overcome.

For example,

• Addressable LEDs, I am trying to put a light strip over my front door hidden in the trim. Going to control it with ESPHome. My use case is I want to individually control LEDs to use as indicators or a set of them to show visually the outside temperature. But all I could find was videos using ESPHome examples or WLED to create flashing lights. Maybe my use case is unique but how many YouTube videos do we need that show WLED.

• Alarm Panel. I finally got an alarm panel configured the way I want. This took allot of effort mostly reading many forums and various websites. It took awhile to pull the pieces together as Home Assistant really just provides a state machine as you need to build out the sensors, automations and a way to control it. Couldn’t find much on this.