New home - options

Hello,

So I am new to whole automation scene however my background is in networking so hopefully not completely ignorant.

Been doing quite a bit of research over last 6 months ready for my new place.

So I’ve bought a new house and everything needs gutting which gives me the perfect opportunity to lay some of the key components needed for a smart home.

My setup I was thinking was:

• server running Hass (not decided on pi or a large server config (is clustered possible for HIgh availability?)
  • HuSBZB-1 for z wave and ZigBee controller (please give me shout if anything better)
  • broadlink rm pro 2 for rf
  • physical network cables to each room (haven’t yet decided on whether to run to light switches)
  • I have asked the electrician as part of rewire to run neutral to all light switches

So some key questions I have are around automated blinds, I have a lot of bay windows and wanted to have 3 x motorised blinds per bay window automated, a key element is it must be able to have manual override, I was thinking using the Fibaro roller shutter blind.

In terms of security I wanted an integrated camera doorbell, with smart lock on door, does hass work with ring? E.g. I could see the video and respond fhen send command to open door without having to jump between apps?

Back on security I was looking to see suggestions around security cameras that integrate with hass and also the sensors and panel required to complete the security setup.

Of course heating will be required, was thinking nest however hive does allow zones now? Any views.

Anything I should be putting in now whilst house is being taken apart? I was going to have rack cupboard at back of office.

Be sure to wire ethernet or power and coax to potential exterior security camera locations.

Given that you already want to wire for blinds, wire for window sensors and doorways while you’re at it!