New to hassio

Sorry if this has been asked before, but i have searched the forums and sadly not found any good help.
I am brand new to hass.io, I am running it on a brand new raspberry pi3 b+. I am running hassio the latest version.
Here is my question. (eglish is not my native language, so sorry for typos)
Lets say i want to configure my ring doorbell 2 to my hassio. The Home assistant page says
"add this to your configuration.yaml file:
ring:
username: YOUR_USERNAME
password: YOUR_PASSWORD
and then says to Finish its configuration by visiting the Ring binary sensor or Ring sensordocumentation.
On the binary sensor it refers to a python script, located here “https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/blob/master/homeassistant/components/binary_sensor/ring.py”

Ok so here is my problem. What to do with this script, where to put it ? to get this to work.
Sorry for probably a stupid question but i am a little lost here.
Kind regards
DigiNorse

No, that’s a link to the source code for that component. You don’t need to use or look at that.
Just follow the instructions in the documentation.

The binary sensor page says “Once you have enabled the Ring component, add the following to your configuration.yaml file:”. That’s the part you need to be reading.

So, to start off, to setup the platform, in configuration.yaml type in -

ring:
  username: YOUR_USERNAME
  password: YOUR_PASSWORD

Then, if you want a binary sensor from it, in configuration.yaml still:

binary_sensor:
  - platform: ring

It also mentions option monitored conditions, which would look like

binary_sensor:
    monitored_conditions:
    - ding
    - motion

If you want a sensor from it, in configuration.yaml:

sensor:

This sensor also has a list of monitored conditions, set up same as the ones from the binary_sensor.
There’s also the camera component, which is more of the same.

Try that out, and if you are still having issues let me know where in that process you’re getting stuck.

2 Likes