New to Home Assistant trying to get MQTT working with Sonoff

Greetings, I am new to home assistant and have come off using SmartThings (which has its own world of problems). Anyway, I hope somebody out there can help me out.
Here is the situation, I have a couple of Sonoff devices that have Tasmota running on them. I have configured them with the MQTT settings in accordance with the multiple videos I have watched on the subject. The screenshot below shows the setup (I am using a real IP address don’t worry)

I have installed Mosquitto broker and I have set a username and password. I have put the following parameters in the configuration.yaml file.
mqtt:
broker: core-mosquitto
username: test
password: 1234

so far so good…

I have also added the following parameters to the configuration.yaml file again based on the multiple videos I have watched.

switch:

• platform: mqtt
    name: “Sonoff power”
    state_topic: “stat/sonoff/POWER”
    command_topic: “cmnd/sonoff/POWER”
    availability_topic: “tele/sonoff/LWT”
    qos: 1
    payload_on: “ON”
    payload_off: “OFF”
    payload_available: “Online”
    payload_not_available: “Offline”
    retain: true

so this should all work. BUT!!! It doesn’t. What is happening is if the Sonoff is off and I turn it on with Home assistant. Then it turns on HAPPY DAYS!!! But after a few seconds home assistant decides that the switch is off and then turns the virtual switch (in the GUI) off again…BUT here’s the thing… the Sonoff doesn’t turn off.