New Vantage InFusion integration using AsyncIO

Hey folks, I’d like to share something I’ve been working on over the past few months, a new integration for Vantage InFusion lighting/automation controllers.

https://github.com/loopj/home-assistant-vantage

If your house has a Vantage InFusion lighting and automation controller, you can use this integration to control your lights and other devices from Home Assistant.

Previously, I’d been using the integration created by @gjbadros (thanks Greg!), but over the past few months I’ve been working on a new asyncio python library called aiovantage for interacting with Vantage controllers. I built a new Home Assistant integration that leverages aiovantage, and I’ve been using it in my own home for a few months now.

Here are the key differences between the integrations:

• Supports a few additional Vantage objects types, such as thermostats, wind sensors, etc.

• Implements full config flow based setup, handling setup failure and authentication errors, and automatically discovering the Vantage controller on the network.

• The integration follows almost all of the best practices from the Integration Quality Scale.

• As well as using asyncio for requests, aiovantage uses a completely different approach to fetching objects from the Vantage controller, leveraging the same API endpoints used by Design Center rather than parsing Design Center backup files.

• Responses from this API are parsed using xsdata into dataclass models, rather than cherry-picking nodes from the XML responses. This approach should in theory be more robust, and makes it much easier to add support for new object types.

• Uses a straightforward approach to entity/device naming, directly using the names from Design Center rather than building a naming hierarchy.

I’d love to get more feedback from other Vantage users. Adding support for new object types should be relatively easy, so please let me know if something you expect to see isn’t showing up.