Newbee Help in debugging

I am new to home automation having installed it yesterday. Maybe my first effort is a bridge too far given my level of understanding. I want to do a REST GET and send the JSON to my MQTT broker. I think the code works to get the JSON but the broker does not get what I expected. Just in case my error is obvious to the most casual observer I will post it here. I put this code in in configuration.yaml

default_config:
frontend:
  themes: !include_dir_merge_named themes
logger:
  default: info

rest_command:
  get_report_1:
    url: "http://192.168.1.15:32000/Driver/Uranus/Report?DriverUniqueKey=606e7eca-4f45-4956-8faa-e3d0a4b694bd"
    method: "get"

automation:
  - alias: "Retrieve and Publish Report 1 to MQTT"
    trigger:
      - platform: time_pattern
        seconds: 10 # Trigger every 10 seconds
    action:
      - service: rest_command.get_report_1
      - service: mqtt.publish
        data_template:
          topic: "report_1"
          payload_template: "{{ states('rest_command.get_report_1') }}"
          # Assuming 'rest_command.get_report_1' returns a JSON string
      - service: logger.log
        data:
          message: "Response: {{ states('rest_command.get_report_1') }}"
      - service: python_script.parse_json_data
        # Replace 'python_script.parse_json_data' with the correct service to process JSON data

python_script:
  parse_json_data:
    sequence:
        data_template:
          topic: "parsed_data"
          payload_template: "{{ states('rest_command.get_report_1') | from_json | json_query('data') }}" 

and my rest call returns this: