Newbie help - phone not connecting

Hi ALL,

I’m very new to HA and I have HA Green working and interfacing with my primary phone (Pixel 8 Pro) via the app and its working just fine. I want to use an older phone (Galaxy J7 Prime) just to display a HA dashboard with some minimum controls. So i made sure the J7 connected to my Wi Fi and that’s ok. Then i installed the HA app and it couldn’t find HA. I tried the Chrome browser directly to the IP addr and it also wouldn’t connect saying: x.x.x.x refused to connect.

I didn’t do anything special in HA for my Pixel to connect so i assumed the J7 would just connect. Is there something i need to do in HA to allow the J7 to connect?

Thanks,
Gerry

What Android version is the J7?

Hi, Just looked up the version in the J7 and its 8.1.0. The HA app said it needed version 5 or later so it should work. But for some reason the HA refuses to let the J7 connect.

Gerry

not all devices or networks will show the server but you should be able to use the IP or URL to connect.

before teh app can work you need to solve this issue. If connecting locally you may need to use teh IP address

Hi,

I DID use both the local URL and the specific IP address to try to connect with Chrome and each time it said that the IP address “refused to connect.”

and you are using the same URLs as the phone thats working correct? have you checked for app and system updates already? Android System WebView should be kept upto date in the play store for the app to work but its strange that Chrome for Android is not working.

Edit: also what error do you see in the app?

Hi dshokouhi,

I appreciate your help as this is ALL new to me. When I run the HA app with either the local URL or the numeric IP address this is the error i get:

Unable to connect to Home Assistant.
Serve or proxy hostname lookup failed, please check that the URL is a valid Home Assistant URL.