Newbie - How to i get 24 hour format and not the AM/PM for logs and ui frontent?

Sorry, this is probably very obvious for most HA users, but to my defence, i am new to HA.

I cant seem to find any option to set the time format to 24h instead of AM/PM 12h format.
The localization is set to somewhere in Norway, (longitude, latitude), unit_system set to metric, language is set to English (I dont want Norwegian language in the front end)

Computer (mac ) is set to English, but in 24h format, Chrome is set to English but 24h format , javascript test (“alert(new Date().toLocaleTimeString());”) gives me 24 hour format .

I cant find ANY setting that i can set in Home assistant to get the correct time format.
Some lovelace cards has the option to set hour24: true, but most dont.

I have NEVER ever had problems getting a system/app/os to give me the right time format befoe.

I am new to HA, but this shouldnt be this difficult, so i am very embarrassed to have to ask for help to this issue. I have to been strugling with this for days, and are so sick and tired of this that i am considering to move to another system.
:face_vomiting:

2 Likes

Formatting is based on Display language in profile settings

Try English UK (or GB) - iirc the default for the US is the 12 hour clock, but this side of the pond we prefer proper time :wink:

/waits to see if any Americans take the bait :joy:

2 Likes

@anon43302295
Ohhh my god, finally … Thank you good sir <3. I was ready to move to another home automation system.

@dimitrichko
Defaulting to time format based on language is maybe a god idea, but i have NEVER ever used a system that force a time/date format based on Display language :joy:

What about all the Americans that smart enough to use 24H format?. Are the poor souls forced to this ridiculous AM/PM format or do they need to have British English as front end language ? :crazy_face:

4 Likes

I guess you must have found out by now, but for future reference for other users: