Newbie - I see no Add-ons at the menu-bar. I installed following the image procedure

Hello, I am a senior who likes gadgets and Home automation. My name is Eric, 59 years, living in The Netherlands. I hope you experts can help me with my quest to automate my home.

As a newbie I installed HomeAssistant using the image file.
It took me a while but now it is working. The only thing I miss is the ‘Hass.io Add-ons’ menu.
Just followed the steps from ‘Getting started’ but I can not find the Add-Ons.
What did I do wrong?

welcome eric :wave:

did you take the installing hassio route or did you follow the alternative installation methods link?

the add-ons menu is only available for hass.io instalations, not for the alternative methods.

so did you in fact install hass.io or “just” home assistant?

and if you installed hass.io did you accidentally remove/comment out the line that says discovery in your configuration.yaml file?

did you already try if restarting the device solves your problem?

Hi Florian,
Thank you for your reply.
I installed using the image method. So I think it is an alternative way. The Hass.io did not do the trick for me.
Is it possible to install the configurator in any other way? Hope to get it done.

Please define ‘the image method’ (a link to the webpage you followed or something) - currently nobody understands what you have installed and we cannot help you until we know :slight_smile:

https://www.home-assistant.io/docs/installation/hassbian/installation/
This is the way I installed HASS on my PI 3b+
hope this is what you meant.

In your configuration.yaml just add
hassio:
Save configuration.yaml.
Restart Home Assistant from Configuration ==> General ==> Server management ==> Restart

Yes, so you haven’t installed hassio, you’ve installed hassbian - as such you do not get a hassio menu item and cannot use hassio addons.

Hope this helps.

This won’t work. He didn’t install hassio…

1 Like