Newbie! - Need help with simple code

Hi guys - Newbie here. heeeeeeelp :frowning:

I’ve got Sonoff switches all over the house, and have no problem doing everyday simple things with them via HA. However, I’d like to do something a little more technical, and don’t really know where to start with the code: it’s probably super-simple for y’all. Can you help me out please.

Idea:
Using 2 switches and a wifi electricity meter, I want to change the SOURCE of electricity to power an item.

Triggers: a) On the 4th day of every month b) when the value of a variable reaches 3 kilowatts

Variables:
Mactual = current reading on the Wifi electricity meter
Mcount = Variable to be reset to (0) zero at ‘change over’
Mdiff = difference between Mactual and Mcount

Code

at the 4th of each month:

If date = “4” then:
Mcount = Mactual (reset Mcount to actual meter reading as a baseline to start)
Switch A = ON
delay 1 second
Switch B = OFF

When the usage reaches 3 kw electricity

if Mdiff = 3.0 kilowatts then:
Switch B= ON
delay for 1 second
Switch A = OFF

** I know I haven’t given the power meter brand, etc… but what would be a “template” I can use.

Thanks !!

Use Automations and ‘Choose’ in actions? This allows some sort of if/then/else by using Options having their own conditions and actions

Thanks. Is there any way to do this via code. I have looked at the automation section… and (Even as an avionics mechanic on aircraft) I can’t, for the life of me figure it out 100%.

Yeah…you do have a point, I did not think about the date part… as I donot have the devices some diea of steps…not sure if I fully understand just trying to give ideas:

Create Automation and set
Trigger: time, choose some time
Condition: {{ now().strftime("%d") == “04” }}
Then in actions, choose
Option 1:
Condition device something state <3.0kw
Action: switchA on
Action delay = 1s
Action switchB off
Option 2:
Condition: device something state =3.0kw
etc.

OK! Figured that one out… thank you. Vingerha.