Newbie: next steps with bluetooth on ESPHome

Hi,
I’m just getting started with Home Assistant and ESPHome. The latter as a bluetooth proxy, primarily because the linux bluetooth support seems a bit ropey. (Plus none of my linux boxes are near where I want to use bt, and cheaper to deploy an ESP32 than another pi.) I haven’t yet decided whether to stick with HA itself, or just try to use ESPHome via its api.

I have two bt devices I want to interact with: one is a reflashed xaiomi thermometer which communicates using broadcasts only; the other is another device that requires to be paired. (A Daikin Madoka thermostat.)

I’ve got a bluetooth proxy working. (First attempt stalled since I was trying to use an esp32-s3-devkit-1 but that seems to have platformio issues, so now using a DOIT esp32 dev board.) My temporary HA install can connect to it, and with component debugging turned on, I can see messages coming from the xaiomi, and when I turn on bluetooth on the madoka I see a storm of messages coming from it.

So my question is how to proceed. Can I just use the proxy on the ESPHome, and do all the pairing and stuff at the host end, or do I need to put the bluetooth client onto the ESPHome, and then have that do the pairing itself? If the latter, do I do the pairing by setting up on_this and on_that rules on the ESP32, or can auto_connect take care of it? (There’s a 6-digit key that has to be confirmed when pairing.)

And can a single instance of ESPHome handle both tasks (receiving adverts from one bluetooth device while connected to another bluetooth device) ?

(As a bonus question - would be nice to be able to flash the LED. I think I’ve read that this requires the arduino framework, whereas bluetooth works much better with the esp-idf framework, which is the one I’m using. But I’m sure this will be covered in the docs once I find my way around.)