Newbie question: Website of the application for auth

Hi everyone,
I have a simple question about authentication for a native app. I am trying to develop a native app as a side project, and I’m just getting started with Home Assistant and Software Development in general. I’ve read much of the documentation about it, and I’m still confused about one part in the authentication section, especially the part about the “website of your application”? :

If you require a different redirect url (ie, if building a native app), you can add an HTML tag to the content of the website of your application (the client ID) with an approved redirect url. For example, add this to your site to whitelist redirect uri hass://auth:

Does this mean that we absolutely need a standalone website for the app just to act as a client for the authentication flow? Can the native app itself act as client with things like app links? Just looking for clarifications as it is the first time I will be using OAuth. I’ve looked online but was not able to find a good definition for a client, and nothing on needing a website for a native app to handle this, so I am a bit in the dark here.
Thanks in advance!

Correct, HA will query the URL you provide and look for the HTML tag in question. In theory it just needs to be accessible to HA, so you could put a random webpage on a static host like GitHub pages.

For example, you can see:

<link rel="redirect_uri" href="homeassistant://auth-callback">

in the response for https://home-assistant.io/ios/, which is what the iOS app provides.

1 Like