NILM Please!

I think this could be a game changer for HA

It could be cool for sure. Sounds like you have a nice project to jump into integration coding in HA!

+1 on this!

I believe that NILMTK would not be interesting to integrate. In addition to running locally, it is more research-oriented, for comparing ML algorithms.

I’m working on something in that direction.

I’m using an esp + pzem004t (esphome/tasmota) to capture the data and I’m having good results using KNN to disaggregate and classify some appliances, looking only at the data from the electricity meter that sits between the house and the grid (after training).

The idea is to use this information together with the information on total consumption, solar production and solar production predictions*, that already exists in HA, and make a recommendation system.

But as I’m new to HA, I still don’t know exactly which way to go. Maybe integrate HA with a local application (API or MQTT?), or try something in the cloud…

Maybe make this recommender system completely outside of HA (getting everything) and only the recommendations that would go into HA. I still do not know.

*Another thing, does anyone know how this “Supercharge your solar panels” works? Here it talks about “Schedule power usage based on solar production predictions”. Is there something already implemented in HA? I didn’t find anything.

Hello, I’m interested in your work, I’m doing some tests too, with poor results, could you give me some tips thanks.

@henriquebol

I have searched far and wide trying to assess the state of NILM in Home Assistant. (The disappointing truth is that this seems to be no prioritized area).

I am interested in your results. Are you still running this setup? Does the KNN still works good? Do you have any code you are willing to share?

@magicus @Valerioweb

I’m still working on it, when I have time.

I’m not doing anything too complex (Seq2point, Seq2Seq, etc…).

It’s just tests: