Nmap tracker "home only" behaviour

Hi!

I’ve been using Owntracks wonderfully for a few months, but since sometimes, in particular phones, it stops sending updates for a while, I thought combining it with nmap_tracker would be a good idea. I followed the instructions and everything works fine, but now I find that Owntracks and nmap_tracker are somewhat “fighting” each other.

I mean, whenever I’m home, both Owntracks and nmap detect it and everything works ok. But if I then put my phone in airplane mode, nmap thinks I’m not in the LAN, and generates an “away” event, even if Owntracks still thinks I’m home (it doesn’t send a new event since my location hasn’t changed, though, so HA switches me to away).

What I would like is configuring nmap_tracker so it just sends “Home” events. It should notify HA that I’m home when it detects my phone inside my local LAN, but do nothing when I’m not, thus letting Owntracks decide. Is that possible?

Thanks in advance!

I have tried owntracks and nmap and found them both very unreliable esp nmap on an iPhone. Owntracks would randomly not work and I found it chewed too much battery. The best setup is to use the custom life360 component. It has worked rock solid for me and my wife. I use this one https://github.com/arsaboo/homeassistant-config/blob/master/custom_components/sensor/life360.py

I remember having read something about iPhones turning to network sleep mode or something like that when at home, and thus nmap_tracker switching them to away. There’s a parameter in device_tracker component called “consider_home” which stops sending “away” events for a time since the moment a device is no longer seen on the network.

I think perhaps I have answered my own question :slight_smile: . Perhaps setting consider_home to a huge number will imply only “home” events are triggered. I’ll give it a try.