No One is At Home Trigger with Zones

It doesn’t look like HA lets you trigger with AND statements, so I’m running into a bit of a challenge with this one. I’m also a bit of a newbie to HA so I may be overlooking something obvious.

Basically I want the alarm to set automatically if there is no presence in the home and the alarm is not armed. If I could use an AND statement it would be easy, but no joy there. This is what I’m looking to do.

If my phone and my wife’s phone leave zone ‘Home’ and the alarm is not Armed_Away, set the alarm to Alrmed_Away.

Any ideas?

The automagion should be like this:
Trigger: person A OR person B leaves home
Conditions: No one is home AND alarm is not armed
Action: Set alarm

1 Like

Thanks for your help.

I’m not sure how to define ‘No one is home’ in the condition.

You can do an “AND” in a trigger, but you have to use a template trigger to do so.

Also, why would you check if the alarm was not armed away before setting it to armed away? For most types of entities, changing it to the same state it’s already in basically does nothing.

So, you could do something like this:

- trigger:
  - platform: template
    value_template: >
      {{ not is_state('person.me', 'home') and
         not is_state('person.wife', 'home') }}
  action:
  - service: alarm_control_panel.alarm_arm_away
    entity_id: alarm_control_panel.PANEL

This automation will trigger whenever the last person leaves home, and won’t trigger again until at least one person comes home, and then when the last person leaves again.

FWIW, I don’t use an alarm_control_panel integration, so I’m not sure about the automation actions.

EDIT: The other way this is typically done is to create a group of the person entities you care about. The group’s state will be 'home' when anyone in the group is home, and will be 'not_home' when nobody in the group is home. Then you can trigger the automation on the group entity becoming 'not_home'.

3 Likes

@pnbruckner