Node Red... Am I missing out?

Hello

I’ve been using home assistant for nearly 2 years now and I love what it does. I keep reading about node Red but do I really need too look into it? Just upgraded from a nuc to an i5 hp 8200.ssp pc not sure that matters :smiley:

Cheers
Mark

Hahahaha… in my opinion no unless you have something that can’t be done any other way but for automations I find yaml and the automation editor work fine…

Of course you will get people swearing by NR and how much easier it is etc…

Ha thanks. I wasn’t wanting to start a debate but I am/was curious as to why. I feel so far yaml does what I want but maybe node Red is “better” I just don’t know…

So a debate… I. Won’t mention us brits and brexit :smiley: not saying you are a brit

1 Like

I’ve gone down the Node-RED route and have since migrated back, apart from one specific application where I need to parse data from a text file and send the values to HA via MQTT.

The default yaml automatons are more than adequate and handle everything I’m after. As with most of these type of questions it all comes down to personal preference at the end of the day. I say use whatever you’re most comfortable with :+1:.

2 Likes

Node-Red it’s awesome. You can create and test all automations without restarting HA everytime. The problem is that there’s no real way to troubleshoot a YAML automation without going through the whole process of restarting, triggering, blabla. With Node-Red you can easily prototype and mock anything you need to debug your flows. It being so visual also helps a lot of people.

That said, if you have your automations out of the testing phase, then YAML based automations take the upper hand because you’re not depending on the stability of ANOTHER component (Node-Red) for them to work. That said, Node-Red has been 100% reliable for me and I’m too lazy to convert my flows to YAML automations.

Here’s an example of my alarm system automation: