Node-Red or Automation

Hi all,
Ive been using HA for a few months now with various devices and automations etc. I have recently been playing with Node-Red but cant decide if and how to use it.

I see the advantages of it being self documenting and easier to create and modify flows (over automations) once I’ve got to grips with it some more. Oh and lets not forget them annoying reboots when testing new automations and making tweaks (yes I use packages)

However I have that little voice in my head telling me I should hold back because if HA updates and the integration gets broke how long before its fixed. Am i overthinking this?

Just wondering how other people use it? if you move all automations across or have some way of deciding if you create Node-Red flow or HA automation have decided not to and for what reasons?

I recently switched all my automations over to Node-Red (from a yaml/Appdaemon combo setup) and couldn’t be happier. (Once I got over the learning curve)

Of course it would be best to use the built-in yaml/automation system for the reasons you mentioned, but right now, the built-in yaml/automation just lacks features that more complex automations require. You could end up with multiple Scripts/Automations/Etc… trying to do one complex automation that you could do in a single, simple, Node-Red flow or Appdaemon app.

Then you have debugging/tweaking/rebooting issues with using the built-in yaml/automation system which makes it a PITA…

As far as your concerns about breaking changes, right now Node-Red & Appdaemon are popular enough that fixes generally happen quickly, both use the HA API and I don’t think either have ever had the integration get broken, so unless the HA API changes, which doesn’t happen often, if at all, you’re pretty safe.

You also always run the same risks of the built-in yaml/automation system being updated and having breaking changes which happens way more often then API changes…