NodeMCU LED strip

Newbie here to NodeMCUs. I’ve had one in a drawer for a long time but never put it to use - decided that I’d change that by having it drive an LED strip (following this info https://www.reddit.com/r/homeassistant/comments/b0m3nq/basic_setup_for_ha_controlled_led_rgb_strip_lights/eifmpi7?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x).

I’m powering the board via USB with a 5V/1A wall socket, but I’m finding that after a few minutes the board starts to smell as if it’s too hot - this is the first time it’s been powered on and I’m not sure if that’s why or if there’s a problem with it. Any experience welcome!

Secondly, controlling the strip works fine, however I’ve noticed that the closer I set the colour to white, the more you can see a colour difference along the strip (it’s a 5M/150LED strip). It starts off birhgt white but the far end of the strip ends up a strong orange. This is apparent with other colours when the colour strength is turned down, but doesn’t seem to be as obvious with the green and blue side of the spectrum. Does this sound like a dodgy strip?

Wow. You need to disconnect that right now. A 150LED strip CANNOT be powered by a 1amp power supply. You probably need somewhere around 10 amps at least. And I hope you didn’t connect it to the NodeMCU. The strip should be directly connected to the power supply and the NodeMCU connecting to the power supply as well. I don’t think the pins on the NodeMCU are designed to be able to push multiple amps through them. That might be the burning you are smelling.

I’m planning on doing a write up on how to hook something like this up.

Right, that would certainly explain my issue! I had a feeling that reddit post just made things look far too simple if i’m honest - it seems quite hard to find a concrete write-up on doing this. So to make this work i’ll need a PSU to power the strip with too (it has separate wires for feeding power in)