Nodered with Bigtimer help needed

So to start I am new to home assistant and to node red…so thanks for being patient.
I have outside lights controlled by a zwave light switch and outside decorations controlled by a sonoff basic that I want to integrate into a nodered flow to turn the lights and decorations on 30 minutes before sunset and then off at 10:00pm. The nodered flow that is attached works as described. However if someone turns the zwave light switch on manually then 1 minute later when bigtimer runs/updates the lights turn off. I understand why it is doing this…just can’t wrap my brain around how to modify the flow to keep the lights on (at least for a period of time) if someone manually turns on the zwave outside light switch.

Thanks for any assistance you may provide.

I wouldn’t use BigTimer for this.

I find Schedex much simpler for this. I do something similar. It doesn’t require any input on it.

@flamingm0e Thanks! Implemented schedex and it looks like it is working great!

Out of curiosity…since this is new to me are you willing to share your code in the function block?

Thanks,

Dan

I had the same situation with my automation and found a simple solution.

1. All my lights get switched off based on a timer (https://flows.nodered.org/node/node-red-contrib-mytimeout) .
  2. I detect if the light was switched on by an event-change node, restarting the timer

With this approach you still can switch-off the light manually before the timer is doing it but trust me, soon your family will never switch off the light manually again :wink:

Honestly, this function node doesn’t need to exist. I could use a switch and change node, but I like writing my own from time to time.

var state = msg.payload
if(state == 'on'){
    msg.payload = {
        service: 'turn_on'
    }
} else if(state == 'off'){
    msg.payload = {
        service: 'turn_off'
    }
}
return msg;

I use this node to set a timer.