Noob Question- All Home Light control via Light Switch

I am new to Home Assistant but love the aspect of being able to control my home via automation of of course. I am building a new home and wanted to later get into controlling all my items using alexa or Google home at some point. But my concerns is my children would run the light bill up constantly by leaving hall, their closet, and bedroom, as well as bathroom lights on. I wanted to by All new light switches and I was looking at these.:Sonoff Touch Wall Wifi Light Switch.

I know its a pretty penny to fill the whole house with these as to be able to control all lighting since it makes no sense to do just their rooms, at some point i also would implement some type of motion detection in their rooms and closet but I want to at least look at a lighting option first to make sure its a cheap and working option. I want to be able to set a timer at the least to for no detection so that the lights will just go off. I was looking for suggestions to hopefully save money as this is what i want to be my first home automation project at the new house. Should I do this or would it make better sense to do something else to save funds?

Here is my 2 cents worth.

1. First get something similar to the https://www.amazon.com/Aeon-Labs-AEDSB09104ZWUS-Aeotec-Monitor/dp/B00DIBSKFU/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1499879529&sr=8-6&keywords=power+meter+smart power meter. This will give you a good way of determining what is using power in your house.
  2. Get your electrician to wire all your outlets with both a ground and a neutral at it. This is most relevant at 3 and 4 way switches where they like to cut corners and just run the traveler wires. Without the ground and neutral you will have a real pain getting those smart.