Noob Templating

I’m quite new to home assistant and trying to create a template to use to check through all my thermostats, and check if the current temperature is below the required temperature. I have customised the entities so that each zone of the house is defined and I use this to determine call for heat per zone.

I seem to be having an issue with setting the call_for_heat variable within my if statement

{% set heating_zone = 'chapel' %}
{% set call_for_heat = 'false' %}
{% for state in states.climate | selectattr('attributes.heating_zone', '==', heating_zone) %}

{% if state.attributes.current_temperature | float <= state.attributes.temperature | float %}
    {% set call_for_heat = 'true' %}
    {{state.name}} ({{state.attributes.heating_zone}}) - Call for heat: True
  {% else %}
    {{state.name}} ({{state.attributes.heating_zone}}) - Call for heat: False
  {% endif %}
{% endfor %}
Overall Call for Heat: {{ call_for_heat }}

Here’s my output:

Girls Thermostat (chapel) - Call for heat: False

Daniel Thermostat (chapel) - Call for heat: False

My Room Thermostat (chapel) - Call for heat: True

Joshua Thermostat (chapel) - Call for heat: False

Room 10 Thermostat (chapel) - Call for heat: False

Gaming Room Thermostat (chapel) - Call for heat: False

Overall Call for Heat: false

As you can see one of the thermostats is calling for heat, but I get false output…

Could I ask why you are doing this with a template and not an automation?

You need a namespace to get the values out of the loop:

{% set heating_zone = 'chapel' %}
{% set ns = namespace(call_for_heat = [false]) %}
{% for state in states.climate | selectattr('attributes.heating_zone', '==', heating_zone) | selectattr('attributes.temperature', 'defined') %}
    {% set ns.call_for_heat = ns.call_for_heat + 
    [ state.attributes.current_temperature | float(0) 
    <= state.attributes.temperature | float(0) ] %}
{% endfor %}
Overall Call for Heat: {{ true in ns.call_for_heat }}
1 Like