Notification Automation - Garage door left open

EDIT: Solved and working… didn’t change anything, just started working.

I am new to the HASS scene, but have already found it incredibly useful to bundle all of my smart devices in one place that is platform agnostic.

Lately my kids have accidentally left the garage door open a few times overnight. My goal to improve my wife approval factor is to create a notification that will send a pushover message when the door has been left open for a set period of time. Here is what I have now:

alias: 'Garage door notifier '
  description: Sends pushover when open >15 minutes
  trigger:
  - platform: state
    entity_id: cover.garage_door
    for:
      hours: 0
      minutes: 30
      seconds: 0
      milliseconds: 0
  condition:
  - condition: device
    device_id: 2cd8b012226884784bafcae64f5b76e2
    domain: cover
    type: is_open
  action:
  - service: notify.pushover
    data:
      title: Garage Door
  - service: timer.start
    data:
      duration: 00:30:00

When testing, I get too errors in the logs:

Garage door notifier : Error executing script. Invalid data for call_service at pos 2: must contain at least one of entity_id, device_id, area_id.

and

Error while executing automation automation.garage_door_notifier: must contain at least one of entity_id, device_id, area_id.

This is my first automation, so I am thinking it may be an easy fix… at least I hope.

1 Like
    data:

you are missing the entity_id of the timer you want to start.

data:
      entity_id: timer.some_timer

Finity has answered the question reference the errors.

But why not have the trigger as state = door open for 30 mins and do away with the condition?

The way you have it would work, once the entity for your time is in place, however your current automation is watching for any state change on door entity that stays for 30 mins, were as all you want is it to watch for the door having been open for 30 mins.