Notify setup for SMTP not creating the service

Hey, sorry if this is a very basic question, and the answer is obvious. I’m very new to HA.

So I am trying to set up some automations to notify me via email. I’ve added this to configuration.yaml

notify:
    platform: smtp
    name: email
    server: smtp.gmail.com
    port: 587
    timeout: 15
    encryption: starttls
    sender: [email protected]
    username: [email protected]
    password: password
    recipient:
    - [email protected]
    - [email protected]
    sender_name: Home Assistant

I have tried with 2-factor authorization off, as well as on with the app password.
I have selected to allow less-secure apps.
I tried using gmail and yahoo
I’ve rebooted the server a thousand times.

for some reason the service “notify.email” is never created.

I’m sure I’m missing something stupid, but I’ve been throwing human suffering at this problem for about 4 hours, I’ve read through everything even vaguely connected in the forums, and I just can not figure this out.

What’s in the log?
Do you have multiple notify integrations?
Then it should be:

notify:
  - platform: smtp

- platform: other

Hey, I was able to get it working. Not sure what fixed really, but it is working.

I couldn’t find anything about it in the logs, except for when I tried to call the sevice with an automation it return something like “unable to find notify.emai”

I reenabled 2 factor authorization on google’s end, added the per app password again and now it works.

The only things that I did differently is adding the password to secret.yaml and referencing it in the config file, and when I set up the app password I chose “email/windows” and it worked. .