NOX Systems to Home Assistant

I’m not an expert in Node RED by any standard, but I did manage to get a working interface between my NOX systems alarm panel and Home Assistant. It took me quite a while so I’d like to share what I did.

NOX works with modules. Most are actual hardware, but there is a TIO module also (Text Input Output). It can send ASCII messages or call a HTTP endpoint. The HTTP endpoint was to limited for the HA API, so I opted for the ASCII message and convert it using node red.

In NOX, you need to create a TIO module with two virtual outputs, one for sending the input status and one for sending the area status. Set the server IP to the IP of Node Red

Each output has a formula that triggers on all status changes of eather area’s or input’s:

On the third tab you configure the message being sent. I delimited with a |, and seperate by that delimiter in node red.

And this is the flow I created:

https://pastebin.com/dl/X9QzTGcN

Once the first state change has occured, you should have the sensors in HA with any status (Open/Closed/Sabotage for inputs, Amed/Disarmed etc for the area’s)
afbeelding

This might be a niche solution, but perhaps the flow is an inspiration to someone.

3 Likes

Hi
This is my first post, so if I ask silly questions I appologize in advance. I’m new to HA since I switching from OpenHab (witch I use since aroun 8 years). So i’m not familiar with HA.
I’ve tried to follow the steps but i get a Error in node red. Do I have to do more config in the Node-Red envirement? Or Do I have to install API or ist this active by default?
Thanks for any hint an by the way Happy new year :slight_smile:

Hi Andreas,

Did you use the pastebin config I posted? If you download that, you have a json file.
And that json file, you should be able to use in NodeRed (hamburger menu on the top right, click import)

I don’t think there is anything else you have to do, but it’s been four years since I was working on this…

Hi Oliver