Offline Sonoff S31

I’m new to HA so please be gentle … I have HA setup with Sonoff S31 switches as well as an S40. I’ve loaded Sonoff LAN and put in FW blocks to keep the switches from talking back to the eWelink portal. Initially setup it all works, except that cumulative power consumption on the S40 breaks. Some hours later, the switches start going offline in HA, although the eWelink app still sees them. Am I doing something wrong or is this not possible to have these switches with stock firmware completely disconnected from the internet?

Do you have the proper sign in id/pw? Did you pull the API key(s)?

Sonoff Lan logged into my ewelink account, saw all switches, the switches are functioning for a “while” and then become “unavailable”. What do you mean API key? Did I miss something? Once they become unavailable if I reboot HA it starts working. I removed the internet block it starts working.

This is so it stays connected for 3rd party apps.

Read under Mode and debugging sections, also check your MDNS (multicast and uni-cast) setups on your networks.

https://coolkit-technologies.github.io/eWeLink-API/#/en/PlatformOverview

Thank you for taking the time to reply. I’ve set the mode now to local, was in auto. I turned on debugging and can see the log. After a period of time when everything was working I see a log entry that says:
=> Local4 | {‘cmd’: ‘info’}| File “/config/custom_components/sonoff/core/ewelink/local.py”, line 195, in send| r = await self.session.post(|aiohttp.client_exceptions.ServerDisconnectedError: Server disconnected|
and then:
!! Local4 | Device offline

The switch now shows unavailable. In this case it is a Sonoff S40. I have both S31 lite and S40. They both do it.

I have not resorted to apikey/device key at this point.

I am not sure about MDNS. I have Pfsense and Pihole in the home. I can change the switches to NOT use Pihole if that might be the issue and point them at Pfsense for DNS.