On/off toggle for automation and script steps

Many times I wanted to temporarily disable some steps from my automations and scripts - for example, disable notifications for a door opening but leave the light turning on enabled.

I know I can break out these to multiple automations but it would be nice to be able to just disable steps.

Even commenting out manually in YAML would be fine. Right now, #comments just get removed from the YAML.

I am by no means an expert been using home assistant for a month :slight_smile: I would use a helper toggle and “choose” in the trigger section of the automation, using the helper as a condition.

3 Likes

That’s a complicated overkill that could be circumvented by allowing #commenting out in the YAML :slight_smile:

You need to separate the automations you create using the Automation Editor and the ones you create with a text editor.

If you keep them all in the same place (by default it’s the automations.yaml file) any comments you add to it are discarded the moment you use the Automation Editor to save an automation.

Here are the instructions for separating your automations.

It’s what I use and most of my automations have comments that document the evolution of the automation (date and brief summary of what I changed) and the older code commented out (that I eventually delete after I am satisfied that the new code is working properly).

I like the idea. Don’t for get to upvote your own request.

If I understand it correct, you want something like this:

Yes, I’d probably word it something like “enable/disable this step” or something. Each one should be disable-able (!) if the automation logic permits. Otherwise, yes, a toggle like this would be fantastic. I do understand there are ways to do this but they require a lot of work.

That’s not great though. Most of my automations are a result of a combination of UI editor and manual YAML editing. Almost all of them really.

You stated: