Output speech to Alexa based on state

I’m a bit lost here to be honest.

Can anyone offer advise on how I can get my alexa devices (or a single device) to output speech based on a state? I’m thinking of something like “The washing is done” once the washing machine finishes or announcing my kids bed time, is this possible?

I’m quite new to node red but i’mm sure this is possible, just can’t quite work it out!

1 Like

echo%20show

I’d like to to this also, I’m guessing the ‘media_player.alexa_tts’ is a some assistant component? Do you have a link?

Here’s my hokey morning alarm. You may find this useful:

- alias: 'Good Morning Richard'
  initial_state: true
  trigger:
  - at: '07:00:00'
    platform: time
  condition: []
  action:
# Light on dim
  - service: light.turn_on
    data:
      brightness: '80'
      entity_id: light.bedroom
# Moring greeting
  - service: media_player.volume_set
    data:
      entity_id: media_player.406_bedroom_echo_dot
      volume_level: 0.6
  - delay: '00:02'
  - service: media_player.play_media
    data:
      media_content_id: Alexa.GoodMorning.Play
      media_content_type: sequence
# Weather report
  - delay: '00:02'
  - service: media_player.play_media
    data:
      media_content_id: Alexa.Weather.Play
      media_content_type: sequence
# Coffee yet?
  - delay: '00:05'
  - service: notify.alexa_media
    data:
      target: media_player.406_bedroom_echo_dot
      data:
        type: tts
2 Likes

Or this one to announce and take a picture when the tool shed door is opened:

- alias: 'Tool Shed Door Open'
  initial_state: true
  trigger:
  - entity_id: binary_sensor.tool_shed_opened
    platform: state
    to: 'on'
  condition: []
  action:
  - service: notify.alexa_media
    data:
      target: media_player.406_kitchen_echo
      data:
        type: tts
  - data:
      entity_id: camera.406_north
      filename: /config/camera_snapshots/opened {{ entity_id.entity_id }}_{{ now().strftime('%Y-%m-%d
        %H.%M.%S') }}.jpg