Over 7GB of RAM allocated

Hi! Please tell me, is it normal that home assistant installed on a hyper-v virtual machine reserves almost 8 gigabytes of RAM? I have 16 cores allocated and initially 4 gigabytes of RAM, but I could not update the system to the latest version with that amount of memory, I received a message that the memory was exhausted and processes were being terminated. Only after increasing the volume to 8GB was it possible to update.
At the same time, the home assistant interface (in the settings/hardware section) uses no more than 1.5 gigabytes of memory. And in the hyper-v panel almost 8 are reserved. Is this normal?

As a newbie, I cant add 2 screenshots to post, so adding RAM usage from HA report.

It is recommended to have a min of 32GB for HA.

Wow, never heard of this. They mostly use raspberry and other mini-systems; they rarely even have 4 GB of RAM. So this is normal system behavior?

Sorry, that is a min of 32GB of disk space. I have seen 4GB of RAM work ok unless there is an integration that is causing issues.

1 Like

On ESXi I have 4 cores and 4GB. ESXi stats shows that while entire RAM is allocated to VM (which is normal, I’m not doing any over-provisioning on my system), very rarely +50% of this is active, so my system should easily survive having only 3GB allocated. Hyper-V is different, but not to such extreme. Perhaps something is going on due to such extreme number of cores being configured? On desktop class CPU 2 cores should be sufficient, 4 gives peace of mind for extreme situations.

You’ve given your vm “permission” to allocate up to 8GB of RAM, so that it allocates (not consumes / actively use) around 7,6 isn’t wrong.

16 cores is way, way too much. You are oversizing by a lot (which in turn can slow your vm down if you run more vms on the same host). You can turn it down to 2 or 4.

1 Like