Owntracks - How to configure with HTTP on iOS

Hi,

Im new to owntracks. After install 0.83.1 version and read a lot of articles about owntracks and home assistant im unable to use it with home assistant.

I have configured my device and with Home Assistant app it is working. Now i want track my position with owntracks.

Can anyone help me about confgure it using HTTP method on iOS? I don’t understand what URL and configuration i need put on the app.

Thanks.

I was looking for this URL also…

Go to https://yoursitename.domain/config/integrations/dashboard
Click CONFIGURE next to OwnTracks
The url is displayed to you

The webhook_id can also be found in /path-to/homeassistant-configs/.storage/core.config_entries

Once you know your webhook_id, your URL is https://yoursitename.domain/api/webhook/super-long-random-webhook_id

If you don’t see your webhook_id in the .storage/core.config_entries, but you do have an entry for owntracks, you could do as I did:

1. Backup this file in case you make an error
  2. Remove the json entry for owntracks
  3. Restart HomeAssistant
  4. Go to the configuration link https://yoursitename.domain/config/integrations/dashboard
  5. Configure OwnTraxks
1 Like

Thank you very much. I have to restart ha few times to make it work for IOS

Mode: HTTP
Authentication: ON
UserID: Yourname (I use my ha username)
Password: Blank (don’t put anything)
Secret encryption key: secret (leave it as what it is, I didn’t put anything)
url: https://yoursitename.domain/api/webhook/super-long-random-webhook_id (as @GervaisdeM mentioned on above post)

Once connected the STATUS show ‘idle’

One more thing I want to ask. Will this show in entity_id as device tracker? or where to find this entity_id create by ha.

Hi. My results:

1 - http://ec_xyz.amazonaws.com:8123/config/integrations/dashboard

Open 404 error page

2 - OwnTracks make home assistant create it own device id inside “know_devices.yaml”:

username_abc123617770449f963598830c012345

3 - My config: