Owntracks Integration (known_devices.yaml missing)

Hi,

This is my first time posting in this forum, so excuse the error if this is posted in the wrong category. I have homeassistant running as a docker instance on ubuntu. I have created the integration for owntracks and setup my connection with homeassistant cloud. I have also configured my owntracks app as per the documentation to send location information to homeassistant cloud and in turn to my HA instance.

Communication appears to be working well, however, on startup of HA, an error related to the homeassistant.components.device_tracker component is throw regarding the unavailability of the file known_devices.yaml. In addition, all incoming location updates are rejected.

Startup Error:

2019-02-05 13:45:15 ERROR (MainThread) [homeassistant.components.device_tracker] Unable to load /config/known_devices.yaml: Config file not found: /config/known_devices.yaml

Errors on position update:

2019-02-05 13:43:09 WARNING (MainThread) [homeassistant.components.device_tracker.owntracks] Ignoring encrypted payload because unable to decrypt using key for topic owntracks/***/OP6

I have tried creating an empty file named known_devices.yaml under /usr/share/hassio/homeassistant and /usr/share/hassio/homeassistant/config but in both cases, the same file not found error is logged in homeassistant.log during system startup.

Can anyone point me in the right direction ?

If you are running hassio , ssh into hassio, cd into /config and touch known_devices.yaml

I’m running hass.io under docker and I have tried creating the file in both /usr/share/hassio/homeassistant and /usr/share/hassio/homeassistant/config but the error persists (I’m assuming all configuration is stored outside of the actual docker images as these are recycled on upgrade)