OZW_Log stops logging after a few hours, Z-Wave devices stop reporting to Home Assistant

Hi All,

I’ve been using Home-Assistant and Z-Wave for about 6 months now. I’m running a Raspberry Pi 3B with:

• Raspian Stretch OS
  • Home assistant (0.84.6 current) in a python virtualenv
  • Razberry daughter card plugged into the GPIO header.

I have five connected z-wave devices so far, four Aeotec MultiSensors (three mains powered, one on battery) and one Aeotec SmartSwitch.
I also have a number of other components in the mix including:

• A systemmonitor getting the memory and disk usage of the pi.
  • A bom sensor getting weather data from the internet.
  • A custom udp sensor listening for data from an Arduino.

By and large the system has been reliable, the most challenging problem was switching the SQLlite DB to MySQL and troubleshooting some referential integrity issues. Aside from that, everything works fine.

Execpt for this problem…

Upon a fresh boot of the Pi, home-assistant starts up OK, all the sensors including z-wave devices and others send data in a timely fashion. For the z wave devices, the battery Multisensor reports in half hour intervals, while the powered sensors report every thirty seconds.

I check the home-assistant GUI to see all is well, then I go to sleep (or work).

Unfortunately, when I get back home to check it, I almost always find that after a few hours of successful operation, Home-Assistant has stopped receiving data from ALL z-wave devices; the charts have flatlined and the last sensor report from any z-wave device was something like “5 hours ago”.

Checking the OZW_Log, I find that the timestamp of the last line of the OZW_Log corresponds exactly with the time that home-assistant stopped receiving z-wave sensor data.
There is nothing in the OZW_Log I can see that would point towards a crash or error. Here are the last several lines of the log before the last outage: