Performance: Native/Proxmox on N100

I’ve ordered a N100 16GB,250GB mini PC and consider doing this:

• Native HA on it, nothing else
    or
  • Proxmox with HA and a Win11 VM, may run at the same time.

Does anyone have experience with that, in particular with noticeable performance differences?

Does USB passthrough work either way? (Sonoff stick)

cheers

I’m using Proxmox on a N100 16GB RAM & 512GB SSD. I’ve 5 VMs and LXCs (CTs) running: HA, ESPHome, CompreFace, Codeserver, Uptime Kuma. Total CPU usage is mostly at around 10%. The CPU load peaks are at 45%. Everything runs like a charm. The biggest benefit of Proxmox is that you can make snapshots and backups. This is so easy to do and especially snapshots are great with HA. Make a snapshot, install or change something and if it doesn’t work then rollback to previous state in seconds. USB passthrough also works fine. I use a Sonoff Zigbee Stick. I’ve no experience with Windows running on that PC. Maybe someone else can comment.

What I would recommend is that you purchase a 1TB SSD and upgrade your mini PC with it. If you use snapshots a lot then your 250 GB SSD is quickly becoming too small.

3 Likes

since you’re running so much, given not using much resources, just another VM with Win11 should be fine.
I wouldn’t need snapshots that much, just thought only HA on that box (native) is a bit of waste.

thanks

That’s true. I run HA with 2 cores, 4GB RAM and 32GB storage.

1 Like

I can say that running a VM with Win11 is no problem, but GPU passthrough is currently a pain to setup and not supported for all scenarios. So do not expect your Win11 VM to do Video Encoding or 3D acceleration.

Also consider that N100 supports max 16GB RAM. Windows 11 needs at least 4GB - better 6 or 8 - this is half of your RAM only used by one VM!