Please Help Me ! Understand Home Assistant

I Need Help ! Learning and Understanding Home Assistant ! I’m totally New to The concept
Could anyone spare a few minutes to share Some knowledge and experiences with me ?
I’m Very Interested ! But So far Everything Looks and Sounds Too Complex and Complicated For a person with No Computer Programming Knowledge !
Hints and Advices Will be Greatly Apreciated :slightly_smiling_face:!
Thank You Very Much in Advance !

Did you read any of this?

3 Likes

Once you’ve got it up and running, you can do everything via the UI and the most complex thing could be adding devices.

You won’t need programming skills per se, but you will need to understand some logic to be able to create automatons and scripts etc.

The system is awesome; it can be as simple as you like yet powerful. However, at the end of the day, this is a hobbyist’s plaything so you should expect to spend some time researching, learning, trying (and sometimes failing which may annoy family members).

1 Like

You gonna need a computer than can run 24/7. I doesn’t require a lot of cpu power but you will need a cpu 2end generation or newer as they do have support for avx and avx2, Those cpu instructions will be used by frigate for camera(s).
You will need a decent gpu card, preferably nvidia, also for cameras and coral tpu.
As for the ram goes the more the better. If you can go with 32 GB. DDR 3 ram will do more than fine.
As for hd go with ssd. Bare minimum 256 GB but preferably 512 GB.
Than you have to decide what type of installation will you use on your server. I use docker.
After you install everything you will have to decide what will be your protocol of choice, wifi, zigbee, zwave, bluetooth, rf. You can combine them but one obviously will be dominant as majority of devices will be using that protocol. I use zigbee for smart switches, outlets, plus, sensors.
If you decide to go with zigbee you will need a coordinator for your network.