Power consumption of Tuya smart plug not automatically updating

Hi everyone,

I’m rather new to home automation and to Home Assistant in particular. I’m doing my best to get things working by reading everything I can find, but I couldn’t find an answer to this problem I’m having.

What I would like to achieve
I have a video projector in my living room, and i would like my smart plug to detect when it is on just by monitoring it’s current voltage or the amount of W it consumes. When my defined threshold is hit, I have an automation that is designed to close my shutters during the daytime.
Quite easy you’ll say! And you know what: the automation in itself works! :smile:

So what is the problem?
My smart plug is a zigbee one, working with Tuya. The power consumption is correctly reported and updated in Tuya in real time. I have the Tuya v2 integration in Home Assistant, and I enabled the power and voltage sensors for my smart plug. BUT these sensors are not updated automatically when I turn my projector on and off. In fact, they can keep showing the wrong value for hours.

The only way I found to get the values updated in Home Assistant is either:

• By opening the Tuya app and go to my smart plug page,
  • Or by restaring the Tuya integration. Actually I thought it was working, but it does not fix the sensor values, my mistake!

Not an elegant solution for home automation :sweat_smile: !

What is my best solution to get this values updated, either on a regular basis (e.g. every xx seconds) or in real time?

Thanks for your help and sorry if this question looks kinda “newbish”, I can assure you I did a lot of research before posting here.

2 Likes

Could not find a solution to this, I ended up buying a ConBee II USB key (for local ZigBee integration) and configuring my smart plugs on it.

What is your version of Home Assistant? Your issue may be related to the following one fixed at 2021.12.6 version.