Power Entity - Customise negative value to show grid export

Hi everyone!

I am very new to HA so bear with me. I have an Octopus Energy Mini that I have working very well with HA. I have a very basic numerical display of current grid consumption.

I have solar, but have not been able to configure anything yet to provide generation data. When I am exporting, the grid consumption figure changes to a negative value. Is it possible with a bit of custom code to show this as a positive figure, and change the icon to show that power is being exported to the grid?

Long story short, my meter doesn’t show export and I don’t get paid for export, but I would like to show my export data, and have an indication on my dashboard that I am exporting.

Many thanks in advance,
Bret

Yes it is, like this:

configuration.yaml

template:
  - sensor:
      - name: Import Power # positive grid power values
        unique_id: grid_import_power
        device_class: power
        state_class: measurement
        unit_of_measurement: W
        state: "{{ [0, states('sensor.your_grid_power_sensor_here')|float(0)]|max }}"
        availability: "{{ has_value('sensor.your_grid_power_sensor_here') }}"

- name: Export Power # negative grid power values returned as a positive number
        unique_id: grid_export_power
        device_class: power
        state_class: measurement
        unit_of_measurement: W
        state: >
          {% if states('sensor.your_grid_power_sensor_here')|float(0) < 0 %}
            {{ states('sensor.your_grid_power_sensor_here')|float(0)|abs }}
          {% else %}
          {% endif %}
        availability: "{{ has_value('sensor.your_grid_power_sensor_here') }}"

You will need to restart Home Assistant if this is the first time you have used the template integration. Otherwise a template reload will do.

It will create two positive value sensors:

sensor.import_power

and

sensor.export_power

Hi Tom,