Power Loss, HA Will Not Start

Hi all -
I lost power today, and while I was trying to gracefully shut down the VM, the UPS died right in the middle of the shutdown sequence. Now the VM refuses to restart at all. Both slots have tried 3 times (according to the grub menu) and now HA automatically goes into the rescue shell.

Now, once in there, I can run the journalctl -xb command and review the log. In there, I can see there are 8 entries for an invalid checksum for a backup superblock.

Keep in mind, this is my first time working with the rescue shell, and I’m not super strong with Linux commands, so I’m stumbling here.

Anyway, from what I’ve read so far, it seems like perhaps my file system is corrupted. But if I try to run the e2fsck command, it tells me /dev/sda8 is already mounted, so that won’t run. And, there’s no way to unmount sda8 (that I know of).

Once in the Rescue Shell, if I tell it to just reboot, it will immediately skip over both of the normal boot slots (I guess because it’s tried 3 times in each?) and drop right back into the Rescue Shell. If I manually intervene in the grub menu and select a normal boot entry, it will try to run, but it will fail, and go back into Rescue Shell. Some dependency is indeed failing, but I can’t tell what it is before it scrolls off the screen.

I’m hoping someone out there might be able to guide me in the right direction to get this resolved. Please.

Sean

Let this be a warning to all choose to run without a UPS, Linux is not immune to damage due to a power loss.
The Linux command your are looking for is ‘fsck - check and repair a Linux filesystem’. I am not remotely close to an expert with it. It cannot be run on a mounted file system. The errors in the log should tell you which partition is having problems. For more info try ‘man fsck’