Price Sensor with attributes

Hey there,
I have got a little python script, which crawls a website to get the current price of one or more tech devices. I’m new to AppDaemon but this might be the right choice to get some more sensor information in homeassistant!?

What I have:
Currently I am using the command_line sensor to get the price into homeassistant.

What I want:
This is quite limited, so it would be nice to have the name of the device, the second highest price etc. as attributes. In that case I could get some more information, when I click on the sensor in homeassistant.

I know, that I could build a workaround and run the script via a cronjob and send json data via MQTT, but there must be a better solution, right?! So, it would be awesome if there is someone with an idea to get this done.

Thanks for your help! :slight_smile:

You could certainly create an App to do this, the App would be able to put all the attributes you needed into Home Assistant.

The only gotcha is that Apps aren’t meant to be kept running for a long time (e.g. the time to crawl a website might be many seconds) so it would be best practice to use a background thread to do that part.

Ah cool, so now I know that I am on the right track! :smile:

What do you mean with “background thread”? Is it possible to geht the App triggered via “sensor.time” e.g.:

if states.sensor.time.state[-1] == '5':
    crawl_price()

Yes, you would do something like that, the problem is that crawl_price() will tie up a worker thread for all the time it is running. Probably not a big deal if you do it once every 5 minutes and have plenty of threads configured for other activities, but it’s something to be aware of.

I finally came up with this little app, which save the information of a selected product to homeassistant. I’m open for improvement suggestions! :slight_smile: