Problem detecting when Sonos ERA100 has changed to Bluetooth input

I am trying to set up an automation that detects when my Sonos ERA100 changes to Bluetooth input and then groups all the Sonos speakers together. I need this because connecting via bluetooth to a Sonos speaker will remove that speaker from any group it is currently in.
When I looked at the Sonos media player entity I observed that an attribute named “media_content_id” does change to include the work “RINCON” within a much longer string. So I made an automation to trigger on this change but it will not run.
I even made a trigger that detected any change on the attribute, but this will not run either. Below is the very simple trigger code from the automation. Can someone tell me why it is not working and how to fix it. Be gentle as I am very new to HA!

platform: state
entity_id:
  - media_player.kitchen_sonos
attribute: media_conent_id

Please post the full automation.

entity_id:
attribute: media_conent_id
                 ^^^^^^

Is that a copy-paste error or is it exactly as it appears in your automation? The word content is missing a t.

1 Like

OK - that is embarrassing!
Thanks for spotting the typo. I have no idea how that happened!
That has fixed that - now onto detecting the word RINCON in the string returned.

1 Like

An alternative is to use a Template Trigger.

platform: template
value_template: "{{ 'RINCON' in state_attr('media_player.kitchen_sonos', 'media_content_id') }}"
1 Like

Thanks so much for that.
I was so nearly there but missed the double quotes “…” around it.
You probably saved me hours!

Tip

If you’re going to use templates, the Templating section of the documentation is a must read. It’s dense with information but start by skimming it just to get an idea of what’s available. If nothing else, focus on this part:

Important Template Rules

Oh yes that would have done it:
“1. You must surround single-line templates with double quotes (") or single quotes (').”