Problem installing hass.io on VirtualBox on macOS

Hi, I’m new to Home Assistant and I’m excited to get it working, however unfortunately so far the installation process doesn’t live up to its hype :frowning_face:

I have previously tried running HA Core via docker-compose on macOS (Mac Mini) and I was able to start it up almost effortlessly, however for certain reasons (which I will list below for convenience) I’ve decided to try to run hassio in VirtualBox on my macOS.

I’ve tried installing it to the letter as specified in this guide: https://www.home-assistant.io/installation/macos#start-up-your-virtual-machine
The issues that I’m facing are:

• first of all, (VM’s address from HA CLI’s network info):8123 is returning “connection refused”, while pinging the VM’s IP works just fine, also tried via curl (address):8123 from host - same result
  • sometimes when I start the VM the HA CLI doesn’t start, giving me “[WARN] Home Assistant CLI is not running! …” message after logging in as root - one time this went away after the reboot, but most of the time it stays like this on consequent reboots

What I’ve tried:

• made sure that network adapter is in bridge mode and pinging to VM’s IP works from the host
  • tried switching “Promiscuous mode” in network adapter settings to “Allow all” as suggested somewhere - to no avail
  • removed the VM, restarted from scratch with the downloaded VDI - got different results on several attempts, sometimes HA CLI boots as expected, but still IP:8123 returns “connection refused”, sometimes HA CLI won’t ever boot, which is super weird, since I would expect the behaviour to be reproducible, since I’m always starting with the exact same VDI

Does anyone have any clue on how to get this running or what I could troubleshoot further? I tried looking up “[WARN] Home Assistant CLI is not running! …” message and found only one discussion about it on this forum, which had some very different context and solution.