Problem setting up Samba

Hi everyone,

I am new to HA and I just setup HA on my Pi 3+ and all went well.

I added the Addon for SSH and used Putty to send Sudo commands (which is not working). I have found online that I had to use "hassio homeassistant " but still not as it should be in the videos I see on youtube.

Then I also tried to start Samba so I could go thru my Network using my PC to edit the configuration.yaml file.

Anytime I hit start on Samba… no go.
I have configurations that I can do… but anytime I change something I get an error message.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Recent changes to the samba addon now requires a password. Just stick any one you wish in your config and remember it when your windows asks you what it is.

Hi Dixey,

I have tried changing the “null” password in the default settings. As soon as I edit the “null” the text changes to red color and I cannot save my changes…

Any idea why?

1 Like

Hi Again,

I figured it out. I had to put the new password in this format " — " otherwise it would not take it. The original null did not have " ".

Thanks for the help.

1 Like

You mean like it says in the documentation?

Hey! Thanks nickrout for great feedback. This was so helpful.

As I stated I’m a newbie on HA and I figured I could ask a question in which I couldn’t figure out the problem.

I didn’t even know there was a documentation on this that I could read about.

You could share a link to that, it would help me.

Thanks for the time and sorry to have bothered you during the holidays.

Cheers!

1 Like

On the addon page in hassio, there is a link, right at the top of the page.

Hi there,
I am also struggling with this. I am trying to connect to windows 10 so the default workgroup that I created is “Homegroup”.
I created a password as per the instructions at the top of the samba share addon page and entered “wlan0” for network.

Please see below:

{
  "workgroup": "Homegroup",
  "username": "hassio",