Problems getting a Shell Script to work in crontab (outside HA container due to IPv6)

My HA install is a HAOS install on an Odroid N2+. I’m quite new to HA and have never used docker or containers before. I’m trying to get a shell script to work using crontab but am encountering road blocks.

The script (which I use on other Linux machines as well) needs to work communicate with IPv6 with the outside world. I already figured out that the HAOS container does not provide IPv6 (and indeed, it uses an internal IPv4 address when checked with ifconfig). Hence, I use the SSH & Web Terminal Add-on, which drops me into a terminal of the underlying operating system (at least eth0 shows the correct IPv4 and IPv6 addresses). I deactivated the “Protection Mode”

I have the script in a folder under root and it works when run normally. But if I add it to crontab, it doesn’t work.

It turns out that none of the changes I make persist on the file system, so maybe cron does not see the changes I make.

Proof: “md test” → “test” shows up when I do “ls”. I then restart the SSH & Web Terminal Add-On, open the terminal, and “ls” shows that “test” is gone again.

I know now what went wrong: the SSH of the SSH & Web Terminal Add-On still runs in a container, and you can only change /config. Any other change does not persist.
I actually managed to get access to the Host OS and managed to get my script working (despite the bash being a bit different apparently as I had to change some of the code), but there is no crontab there.
Will need to do things differently.

I think there should be a warning though in “SSH & Web Terminal Add-On” that nothing is persistent excelt /config. I wasted a lot of time before I found out. There is nothing in the description that explains this. So you are somewhat misled into editing crontab, making new directories, only for all to be gone.