Problems Installing HACS

I am fairly new to HA and I have it installed on a Ubuntu Server 20.4 in Docker. I have tried to install HACS but keep running into install errors. When I try and install via the SSH method, it tells me it can’t find the directory and to manually change the directory to the HA directory. But when I try and cd into the folder, I get an error that the directory doesn’t exist. If I try and use winSCP I get permission denied errors when I try and create folders and paste files. I believe this is due to the owner of the custom_components folder I created is my user account and everything from the Docker folder on is owned by root.

Can anyone give me some guidance how to get past these issues and complete the install? I have googled all the errors I get but I haven’t been able to find any answers that solve the problems.

Are you mounting the HA config directory as a local volume? You should be able to simply ssh into your ubuntu server and cd to that local directory to create your custom_components folder.
Snippet from my docker-compose.yaml:

homeassistant:
    container_name: home-assistant
    volumes:
      - ${USERDIR}/docker/homeassistant:/config

I can SSH into the server but I get an error when I run the install script. When I try and cd down to the folder where the config.yaml file is located, I get an error saying the directory does not exist. This starts at /home/user/docker folder. I was able to create the custom_components folder using the file editor in HA but I am unable to put the hacs folder inside of it.

What docker command are you using to run HA? What install script are you using? As far as I know there is no install script to install HACS, you just unzip a file and place it in your custom_components directory and restart.

I was following the instructions on the HACS install site. curl -sfSL https://hacs.xyz/install | bash -