Problems showing up new entities with MQTT Room (ESPresense)

Goodevening all!

Since it’s my first post here and before I start asking any questions I think it’s only polite that I introduce my intentions on here a bit. My name is Bryan, I’ve been playing around with home automation since 2017 where I got indulged with my first “brain” of the home. That was Home Assistant. I’ve switched around towards solely NodeRED and OpenHAB3 since HA back in the day was a great product, but it was incredibly difficult to configure (too much YAML, I don’t mind making my hands dirty but Home Automation should be fun and I don’t always feel like coding :wink:). I’ve taken the plunge back into Home Assistant in 2022, seeing how mature it became and so much more user friendly. I’m glad to be part of the community and hope that I, in the future will also be able to provide some answers to questions asked here!

To get to my question. I’ve been tinkering around with ESPresense a bit, since I was intrigued by BLE and the multiple usecases I could use this for. As a very simple start I wanted to spin-up my ESPresense instance and verify if I would be able to let my iPhone be shown in Home Assistant.

I’ve done the installation as per the instructions on the ESPresense website. I was able to get my ESP connected towards my Mosquitto broker succesfully, the ESPresense base station also showed up in Home Assistant. So far so good! My connectivity from Home Assistant towards my MQTT broker is working correctly. When I came to the part of configuring my sensors, however things started going downhill a bit. Currently I have the following configuration in my configuration.yaml file:

# MQTT ESPresense Devices
 sensor:
   - platform: mqtt_room
     device_id: "iphone"
     name: "iphone"
     state_topic: "espresense/devices/iphone"
     timeout: 10
     away_timeout: 120