Problems with arm home assistant using docker

Hi hass forum folks,

I’m trying to create a setup so I can back up my hass config files and, should the need arise, quickly deploy my home automation to another machine; so portability is important - hence docker. I have a fully functional instance of home assistant on another machine (without docker) so I’m using that as a starting point to build my docker image. I’m pretty new to docker and so far I really like what I see but when I get the docker instance running I have identified two problems I’m having with home assistant that I can’t seem to figure out:

1. The “Configuration” button in home assistant front page doesn’t work in my docker instance. When I navigate to the “/config” URL, the page that comes up is completely blank and there are no error messages in the browser console. I’m not sure how to troubleshoot this one since I’m not getting any error messages. Any ideas on places to start for debugging a missing Configuration page? This obviously works great on the non-docker machine.

2. I’m using the Aeotec Gen5 Z-wave USB stick but when I plug it into the new machine and fire up the docker instance I see this:

I’m not sure how to go about troubleshooting this either and it’s strange because the one light switch that does appear in the list, is operational!! Because I cannot get to the Configuration screen my Z-wave debug is a bit more challenging. I copied all the config files from the working machine to the new machine and I have mapped the config directory into the docker instance at /config. I’ve checked the logs and there are no Z-wave errors and the one light switch works so this is throwing me for a loop. Is there an easy way to make this Z-wave stuff portable too?

Thanks,
-Greg

1. try to do a refresh on the browser (ctrl-F5 in Chrome). And I assume you have the “config:” entry in your configuration.yaml file?