Proper install to get ZWave/Zigbee to connect to Hyper-V hosted Home Assistant

I am a Smart Things refugee, and I originally settled on replacing it with Home Assistant. Every day I play with this thing it impresses me…and frustrates me beyond measure.

To start off, I’ve been a linux admin for 30 years and am somewhat familiar with yaml. I’ve got a home server that I want HA running on for various reasons. I’ve got little interest in having another Rpi to deal with, but no matter what I do, it seems I’m stuck with one due to the stupidity that is Hyper-V not passing through USBs. Dumping Hyper-V just is not viable at this point…the prospect of migrating more than a dozen VMs out of it onto something else is a non-starter.

I initially just installed the HA VHD for Hyper-V which runs great. It does EVERYTHING I would want it to do…except talk to my Z-Wave and ZigBee devices. The rabbit hole to get that to work is extensive and complex with multiple threads and multiple approaches. I’ve gotta say it is a web of confusion on these forums mostly because everything is effectively a hack to make it work.

I don’t see a Rpi as a valid host for HA. Performance, storage, reliability, backup/restore are all major impediments with a Rpi (nice toys…until you figure out the OS hosted on a microSD is going to last you 2-3 years before the SD card starts dying due to write cycle fidelity). I’m not interested in having to re-load this every 3 years…it needs to be created and forgotten about indefinitely once working.

So with all that said, I am trying to figure out the best way to

1 - host HA
2 - pass Zwave and Zigbee into it