Purchase advice, conbee with deconz or not?

Hello,

I’m posting this as a request for advice.

My current setup is ha running in a docker on my ubuntu server, everything running smooth, I have the aeotec z-stick and slowly but steady starting to populate the house with built in switches and sensors, I like it… but components are not cheap… Which is why I started looking at xiaomi aqara for a LOT cheaper sensors, but I don’t want to get a third gateway (have ikea and hue) so I wonder…

1. How much of a hassle is it to get deconz running with a conbee, and to set up xiaomi running? Worth my while? I have some linux experience, run a cli-server with storage and networking, some license servers etc, but I’m no pro by any means. What order of magnitude of fidgeting will this require compared to running home assistant with z-wave devices and fidgeting with that?

2. If I do spring for the conbee, how capable is it with IKEA and HUE? The ideal route would of course be to replace those gateways too, but in the home assistant documentation I don’t see support listed for example for HUE RGB lights and led-strip, which I have and want to keep.

Thankful for advice on this topic.

I’ve been running deconz for almost 1.5 years now. I’ve migrated all my devices to this system (Hue, Ikea, Xiaomi), Im also moving away from z-wave wherever possible.

With the deconz docker there has been a lot less issues with what you need to do to run and upgrade deconz.

I am really happy with this instance and am awaiting Ikeas Zigbee curtains coming soon

1 Like

I have deconz running on a Ubuntu 16.04 server for about 6 months now. It took me a bit to work out how to tweak the installation - every time I install a new deb package - so that it runs under the correct user account. Firmware updates of the Conbee stick work fine.