Purchasing new hardware for sensors, advice needed

Hello everyone!
I’ve been using HA for a few months and I want to go deeper in automations and devices. Other than Google, Alexa and TVs, here’s the hardware I have so far:

• Five Yeelight color lamps (Wifi)
  • Two Sonoff Basic (Wifi)
  • Two Tuya color lamps (Wifi)
  • Three Tuya 3 gang/button light switch (Wifi)
  • One Tuya RF Alarm with door and presence sensors (Wifi+RF)
  • One Tuya IR controller (Wifi)

In my country Tuya is the most available and cheapest option, and it worked well enough for my uses back then.
Here are the shortcomings I have right now: The RF alarm, sensors and the IR controller aren’t directly integrated and I can’t automate anything outside of Tuya based on these (I use scenes as a workaround, but not ideal). Not to mention that Tuya cloud connection isn’t as reliable as I’d like.

So, I would like to go ahead and buy a few reliable (preferably local controlable) sensors that integrate well with HA, mainly:

• Two temperature sensors
  • Five door sensors
  • Three presence sensores

I’ve read about Zigbee, Zwave, BLE, MQTT and such and I’m a bit confused as what devices to buy in order to get a good experience.

For these sensors I would like to purchase the most mature/reliable/painless solution that we can get in HA. So, what’s my direction? If I go with zigbee, should I get a stick or a hub? What integration to use ?

Thanks in advance.

The newest devices from Tuya have realtek chips inside but if your devices are a bit older you could flash them with ESPhome or tasmoa so you can fully integrate them into HA and don’t have to rely on the cloud.

https://tasmota.github.io/docs/Tuya-Convert/

1 Like