Python script to correct Tado TRV temperature, how do I run it in HA?

Hello everyone, I’ve written a script in python (I’m quite new to it) to control the offset applied to a Tado Smart radiator valve; this way I can use an external DHT22 sensor hooked up to a sonoff switch to read the real room temperature and trick the valve into reading the right temperature (instead of it being affected by the heat from the radiator itself)

I’m currently running the script on Windows10, but I would like to run it on my Home assistant on the raspberry.
I chose Python because I thought a python script could be run in home assistant, but I’ve now realised that’s not the case, especially when I use libraries like “requests”, which I need to access the Tado API

What can I do?

The python_script integration runs Python code in a sandboxed environment that disallows importing libraries. However, a Command Line Sensor can call an external Python file which is unrestricted and able to import libraries.

Here’s an example:

1 Like

Thanks, I’ve configured the script and the command line sensor, but how do I know if it’s actually running?

The initial value of a sensor is unknown. If the sensor is now indicating a numeric value (representing the temperature) then that’s evidence that it is working. The default value of scan_interval' is 30 seconds. If the temperature being measured doesn't change frequently, you can increase scan_interval` to 60 seconds or more.

How do I configure it to show a temperature?

All I’ve done is adding this to sensors in configuration.yaml

- platform: command_line
    name: Tado Offset
    command: 'python3 /config/Tado.py'
    scan_interval: 180

and created Tado.py in /config/

Add unit_of_measurement so that the temperature value will be graphed correctly.

unit_of_measurement: '°C'