Python script to hangup Asterisk SIP call via Automation

Summary: I created a python script to disconnect (hangup) an Asterisk call that takes an extension number as an argument. It solves a specific issue I wanted to resolve and I’m posting it here because I couldn’t find anything else like this in any Asterisk or HA forums and I thought someone else might be able to use it for something. Disclaimer: I’m not a professional programmer. There are lots of failure modes that my script will not handle gracefully. Feel free to improve as needed.

My issue I wanted to solve:
I have a Grandstream Door Intercom that uses SIP and has a built in IP camera. Camera integration works well with HA and intercom works well with Asterisk. I have the intercom programmed to create a SIP call to an Asterisk Call Group that rings all my phones and wall-mounted tablets. If no one answers, it goes to an IVR with a “push 1 to leave a voice message, push 2 to call my cell phone, push 3 to call my wife’s cell phone” prompt. If no one answers the phone when the doorbell is rung and the user doesn’t push any button, then it just disconnects after 10 seconds. All of this is working fine. And it’s pretty cool. The voice messages get emailed to me along with all other voice mails so there is no place to go to check messages other than my Inbox which I like.

If we are home then sometimes it is just easier to open the door rather than answer one of the phones or tablets to talk to the person at the door. If I do this, then the intercom just keeps on ringing, then goes through the whole IVR prompt while I’m already talking to the person at the door. Kind of annoying. I knew I already had an HA binary sensor for my door (via my alarm panel) and I knew Asterisk has an API method (called Asterisk Manager Interface, AMI I learned) so I set out to find a way to cancel the call when the door opens. Here is how it works:

Asterisk Server: